## ACCESS ENERGY COOPERATIVE ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS August 6, 2019

The Annual Meeting of the Members of Access Energy Cooperative was held at McMillan Park in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa at 7:00 P.M. on the 6th day of August, 2019.

The meeting was called to order by David Hollingsworth, President of the Cooperative, who presided, and Robert Smith, Secretary of the Cooperative, acted as Secretary of the meeting and kept the minutes thereof.

An invocation was offered by President Hollingsworth.

Welcoming remarks were offered by Kristi Ray, Executive Vice President of Mt. Pleasant Chamber Alliance.

Secretary Smith reported that the members present in person had been checked and that the list of members present in person is filed in the records of the Cooperative, and said members constituted at least fifty (50) members of the Cooperative and constituted a quorum of the members of the Cooperative.

The President offered to read a copy of the Notice of the Annual Meeting of Members, together with proof of the due mailing of said Notice to all members of the Cooperative. A motion was duly made, seconded and carried, to waive the reading of the Notice and Affidavit, and they were thereupon declared to be approved and ordered to be annexed to the minutes of this meeting.

The Chairman offered to have the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members held August 7, 2018, read by the Secretary. A motion was duly made, seconded and carried, to waive the reading of said minutes, and they were thereupon declared to be approved and were ordered to be filed in the records of the Cooperative.

The Chairman stated that the next order of business was the election of three (3) directors for a term of three (3) years each. The Chairman further stated that in accordance with the Bylaws, the Board of Directors had appointed from the members of the Cooperative, a Nominating Committee consisting of members from each of three districts from which directors were to be elected. District One - Brandon Ledger, Kenneth Whitham, Jerry Leazer; District Two - Bob Wilson, Amy Pullis, Bob Scarff; District Three - Myrna Folker, Tim Myers, Dean Mabeus.

Amy Pullis, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented the Nominating Committee Report and also stated that the Report had been posted at the Cooperative's office as required by the By-laws. The Nominating Committee Report identified the following candidates for the three director positions to be filled.

## THREE-YEAR TERM (Three to be Elected - One From Each District)

District One: Fred Hickenbottom Clifford Nichols
District Two: John Arp Robert P. Smith
District Three: Marvin Newton Ernest Schiller

The report of the Nominating Committee was ordered to be identified by the Secretary and annexed to the minutes of this meeting.

A vote was then taken by ballot for the election of Directors and the ballots were delivered to the inspectors for counting. A motion was made, seconded and carried to close the balloting.

The annual report of the Treasurer, Fred Hickenbottom, was presented and read. Following discussion, the report was approved and ordered to be filed in the records of the Cooperative.

The annual report of the President, David Hollingsworth, was presented. The report was directed to be filed in the records of the Cooperative.

Rand Fisher from the Iowa Area Development Group was introduced and he presented the Cooperative with an economic development award. The Chairman introduced General Manager/CEO Kevin Wheeler, who presented his report on the Cooperative's operations and financial

performance. He introduced special guests, thanked the Board and employees, and discussed safety and reliability issues, local control, contributions to the community, cybersecurity, data privacy, and financial metrics. He also provided information on the new AMI system.

The Chairman announced that the winners of the 2019 Youth Tour were Shelby Ryan of West Burlington and Elizabeth Smith of Danville. The two of them gave a report on their participation in the annual NRECA Youth Tour to Washington, D.C. and expressed appreciation to the Cooperative for sponsoring the event.

The Cooperative's attorney noted that the tellers had certified the election results. He noted that Amy Pullis, Myrna Folker, Jane Symmonds, Mary Ann Ledger, Sue Mabeus and Kelsey Bolin had served as tellers and he thanked them for their service.

The Certificate of Inspectors of Election on the Director election was then presented and read, certifying that the following members, having received the highest number of votes cast, had been duly elected directors of the Cooperative to hold office for the term specified, and until their successors shall have been elected and qualified:

## **THREE-YEAR TERM**

District One: Fred Hickenbottom
District Two: Robert P. Smith
District Three: Marvin Newton

The Chairman directed the Secretary to annex the Certificate of Inspectors of Election to the minutes of this meeting, and thereupon declared the members named above duly elected directors of the Cooperative to hold office for the terms specified, and until their respective successors shall have been elected and qualified.

Attorney Puckett asked for any old or new business and there was none.

There being no further business to come before the meeting, upon motion duly made, seconded and unanimously carried, the meeting adjourned.

Robert P Smith

## ACCESS ENERGY COOPERATIVE NOTICE OF ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS (MAIL AND ELECTRONIC VOTING ONLY)

The Annual Meeting of the Members of Access Energy Cooperative on August 4, 2020, to take action upon the following matters:

- 1. The reports of officers, directors, and committees.
- 2. The election of three (3) directors of the Cooperative for a term of three years each.
- 3. All other business which may legally come before the meeting or any adjournment or adjournments thereof.

DUE TO COVID-19 restrictions, and in an effort to protect the health and safety of the members and employees, the Board has decided not to hold an in-person meeting; but rather will complete the election of Direcors by mail and electronic voting as permitted by the Bylaws and will provide the reports to the members through alternative means.

In connection with the election of directors scheduled for this meeting, the following members have been nominated for Director by the Committee on Nominations appointed by the Board of Directors of the Cooperative pursuant to the Bylaws.

THREE-YEAR TERM (Three to be elected)

District No. I: David Hollingsworth

Carol Wisecarver

District No. II: Jerry Barker

Dan J Fullenkamp

District No. III: Michael Holtkamp

Michael Thimmesch

If you have a candidate running for election in your District, you are urged to cast your ballot for the Director election pursuant to the instructions that will accompany your ballot.

DATED this 6th day of July, 2020.

Robert Smith, Secretary

Kobert P Smith