Iowa Area Development Group (IADG) on behalf of Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives, including Access Energy Cooperative, honored nine distinguished Iowa companies with the Iowa Venture Award. Golden Eagle Distributing Co., nominated by Access Energy Cooperative, was honored in Des Moines. The Iowa Venture Award business recognition event began in 1988 and has honored over 190 of Iowa’s finest business leaders and companies.  

Golden Eagle Distributing Co. is a beverage distributor that operated from locations in Ottumwa and Burlington for 30 years.  As part of expansion, modernization and efficiency efforts the company recently consolidated operations to a new facility in the Crossroads Industrial Park in Mount Pleasant along U.S. Highway 34 and 218.  The new facility is a 71,000 sq. ft. warehousing distribution facility and corporate office.  The facility averages 25 to 30 truck deliveries per week and handles 500 to 700 different kinds of beverages at the warehouse.  The Golden Eagle location employs 50 people and distributes to 18 counties in southern Iowa.   

“The Iowa Venture Award honors the entrepreneurial spirit of individuals and organizations.  The luncheon ceremony is a celebration of the courage, contribution, innovation, social responsibility and vision of Iowa entrepreneurs. IADG has recognized Iowa’s leading companies large and small and it has become evident that our honorees are among the most accomplished and successful companies in the state. Together they help sustain and grow Iowa’s economy.  Iowa Area Development Group on behalf of our sponsors is grateful to have the opportunity to honor and recognize these outstanding Iowa companies,” said IADG president, Rand Fisher.  Since 1985 the Powerful Partnerships and economic development efforts of IADG and their sponsoring rural electric cooperatives and municipal electric utilities have helped generate over $6 billion dollars of capital investment and create or retain nearly 40,000 jobs for Iowa.    

Iowa Venture Awards were also presented to six other businesses for their significant contributions in diversifying and strengthening Iowa’s economy.  The 2011 Iowa Venture Award recipients include: Clickstop, Inc, Urbana; Icon Ag & Turf, Le Mars; Interpower Corporation, Lamoni; Iowa Cage-free, Goldfield; Iowa Protein Solutions, Estherville; and Royal Oaks Development Corporation, Peosta & Bellevue.  Iowa Economic Development Authority, Director Debi Durham assisted IADG in presenting the Iowa Venture Awards and honoring the Iowa companies and their leaders.

IADG is the business and community development leader for Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives and member municipal electric utilities.  The 2011 Iowa Venture Awards luncheon ceremony was held at the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives’ annual meeting in West Des Moines on December 1, 2011.

Share this: